When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people ague that intended purpose is the wholly significant consideration in term of designing new buildings regardless its’ outlook. Personally, I disagree with this perspective. The reasons for it are twofold.

On the one hand, there is a variety of backgrounds why people are solely keen on the intended use of the properties. Firstly, it gives the households an easier access to cut cost and save time of the buildings. Undeniably, thanks to ignoring the appearance of the estates, both designing and construction works would be more smoothly processed. Therefore, the budget of duration and expenditures are considerably reduced. Secondly, these days, some modern blocks are for specific uses, are required to be built with limited materials, let them alone of meeting the demand of surface decoration. For example, when designing warehouses, hardly designers well combine both the sufficient functions and making end meets of beauty.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that the outward faces of the building is by no mean inessential. initially, it respects the common image of local areas. In fact, many skyscapers built without following the traditional concept of the locality, become eyesores. In other words, they damage the typical of cultural construction heritage of the located cities. Moreover, good outlooks, somewhere, cultivate the main function of the building. Let ‘s take Sapa - a old city in Northern Vietnam - as a stark example, had it not been for the policy of local authority that requires not only new houses but shops in local areas to be designed in consistence with traditional looks, the city would have never remain their reputation for architecture to the pick of attracting millions of visitors coming and shopping each year.

By the way of conclusion, why accepting the importance of intended use of building, I reckon that their outward appearances are equally important when forming ideas at designing stage.