When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Buildings, in fact, are not only considered by their functional use but also the aesthetic values contributed to the neighborhood. There has been growing debate whether the most integral element of a building should be its usage or its beauty; however, I would side with people who support both sides. I mean that these values are not mutually exclusively but actually can co-exist equally.

Undeniably, beautifully-designed buildings play an important role in representing the culture of a city or even a country. Examples of this kind are theaters, museums and parks. The constructions falling into these categories usually serve more than their basic functions but become the main city attraction. The Opera House in Sydney is well-known all over the world due to its unique design of shell-shaped covers, which has long been the symbol of Sydney and Australia. Despite the investment in intrinsic equipment, for place like this, the appealing appearance seems to be more highly appreciated than its function.

However, there are situations where the intended use of a place should be prioritized. An example is school or hospital establishment in rural areas, where construction budget is usually limited. In that case, the emphasis on visual quality would prove to be unjustifiable since this investment can be in the expense of building functionality, providing the condition of financial shortage. As far as hospitals and schools are concerned, the outward appearance is placed secondary in designing them.

From the points enlisted above, one can reach a conclusion that neither aesthetic nor functional values of a building is more important than the other. The focus on either of them entirely is up to a case-to-case basis, so a balance between two elements should be maintained.