When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the primary aspect when designing a building is its practical use rather than its appearance. However, I do think that both of them are equally important because of several motives below.

The intended purpose of a building is, of course, very important. In terms of commercial design, a building function is extremely urgent to attract customers. In fact, big glass windows make shop facades look hideous; however, they are essential tools to draw passengers and consumers attention since they are able to see all types of goods in the shop. From the social perspective, for large cities with high population densities, high-rise buildings are highly effective solutions although their outbound appearances are boring and unattractive. As a result, their function to provide citizens with affordable apartments is notably considered.

However, the outside appearance can be combined with its role. In some developed countries, there is a revival trend in designing buildings focused on both aesthetic and intended use quality. Although the ugly look of multi-storey car parks is undeniable since they are consequences of modern society, green and renovated buildings, coffee shops, offices and the like are appeared as solutions for combining beautiful design with useful function. In fact, the centre of Paris is a great example of the mixture of art and the use of buildings. It proves that the aesthetic architecture can possess character, which is not incompatible with its commercial function.

In conclusion, practical function is considered as much important as the building’s beauty. Therefore, the beautiful design of old construction should be preserved through generations.