While it is widely recognized that cars damage the environment, the use of cars continues to increase. Why? How do we control it?

Despite the fact that the use of cars exerts enormous undesirable impacts on the environment, there is still a blooming in car’s ownership. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this tendency before elucidating some viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle it.

There are two primary reasons as to why a burgeoning number of people use automobiles frequently irrespective of acknowledging their demerits. First and foremost, it is believed that private cars are a predominant option due to their convenience and comfort. Specifically, these means of transportation offer gathering speed up to hundreds kilometers per hour, and they are fully-equipped with ventilation systems, namely air-conditioning units. Thus, users would feel a sense of satisfaction and pleasure during their journeys compared with the urge to hurry up when utilizing trains or buses. Furthermore, the increasing growth in car ownership may result from psychological manipulation. To illustrate, in developed countries, scores of residents concede that they could enhance their financial status through purchasing newly-manufactured cars, which could act as a prompt to others to have the same intention, thereby causing an overdependence on these motor vehicles.

To combat these worrying issues, the following feasible steps should be taken. Firstly, governing bodies should put the application of automobiles under restriction. Notably, making private cars use more expensive and inconvenient via placing prohibitive parking fees in metropolitan areas while empowering citizens to use public transport networks instead would make them more willing to abandon their cars. Consequently, this approach would divert a large amount of cars in the streets, thus engendering better air quality. Secondly, national authorities should promote manufacture of electric vehicles and other modes of transport that take advantage of renewable sources of energy. For example, in Singapore, local dwellers are encouraged to use electric vehicles, which could act as a precursor to the improvement of air contamination levels and global warming as a whole.

In conclusion, there are two underlying motives under this negative trend, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to remedy these problems.