Why do you think social skills are now being emphasized by companies during the recruitment process? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Companies have added various qualities they need from employees. These include social skills. This essay is going to discuss reasons behind this such as that the job market is now very competitive amongst others.

To begin with, a number of companies need to asses social ability of its prospective employees before recruitment since a more sociable employee can market the the company much better than a less socializing person. When an employee go out to parties the main discussion will be about work and there will be a considerable number of people in which he can share what his business is all about and this will attract investors. For example, Mikkelsen Tom was able to make a great deal of money for his catering business by talking to Bill Gates at a conference in San Francisco. He would not have achieved this if he was not a very social man. This clearly shows that social skills are of paramount importance to the prosperity of the business.

To add on, being a social person helps one to market himself in an increasingly competitive business world. When one has the social skills he has the ability to convince the recruiters to hire him. For instance, when I interviewed for a job as a nurse in America I was able to market myself that brought about the skills that I would be able to market their private home to new clients. Thus this makes social skills essential on employees.

To conclude, social skills has become part and parcel of abilities needed from employees because they provide the best opportunity for company success.