Working from home has become increasingly popular with many employers and employees. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working from home

By 2020, most employees do their job from home, instead of working at the office. These duties have many positive and negative aspects. Nevertheless, I am afraid of its negative consequences for society.

To begin with, working from home holds the merit of saving time and money. Instead of paying for buses or taxis and waiting in queue for public transports, workers can perform their duty from homes leading to increase their budget and have more leisure time for family. Another benefit is that such working is safe and secure, regarding any pandemic and infectious diseases. The Corona, for example, spreads exponentially with physical contact. However, working at home causes social isolation and stops the transmission of the virus, which eventually eradicates the viral disease. China defeated the pandemic with this strategy. The final advantage is that the carbon emission of automobiles reduces when people don’t drive often. Fewer private cars will hopefully reduce traffic congestion and assist emergency vehicles, like ambulance and fire brigades, to do their humanitarian job without delay.

The output, on the other hand, decreases when workers are not under the supervision of their employers. For instance, most companies in my country suffered a colossal loss instead of profit, which eventually decreased GDP. This was because of not completing the assignments, delaying in goods delivery, meeting cancellation, and most importantly, employees were focussed domestic kinds of stuff rather than their duty. Loss of internet connection is another disadvantage when doing job from home. This happens particularly in rural areas where load-shedding is the primary concern. Consequently, some essential meeting calls or assignments couldn’t be completed, which often reflects the bad reputation of a company.

To conclude, while there are some advantages of working from home, I would say that a business corporation cannot run without a physical setup, where a manager is needed to supervise and check the performance of his employees and which is obstacles-free.