Working hours today are too long and people are not spending as much time as they should with their families or on leisure time.

It is believed that in modern world people have to spend more time at working places than it used to be. In my view, such statement is partly correct and I would like to explain why.

First of all, I think that nowadays people do not have to work that hard manually thanks to all machines and equipment. A lot of human efforts are replaced with robots. A person is still very important, but working process is much easier, because human mind is productive and creative. From the other side, intellectual work is very precious and is in use all the time, because it is "engine of progress".

Secondly, each person has his/her own motivation for work. For example, my friend is a doctor, so he spends days and nights at his job, because: 1) he loves it, it brings him satisfaction; 2) he wants to be well qualified and to become a head of department. Other people work a lot to build a carrier or more often - to collect money. An example of this is situation in Ukraine - more and more people work very hard here or mostly abroad just to make money for living and provide normal life style for their families. Sometimes, family members do not see each other in person for months or years.

To sum up, I have to say that if government or private companies will provide people with reasonable salaries for 8 or 10-hours working day, they will have plenty of free time for family or other activities. Still, it is choice for each one personally what job to take and how much time one is ready to dedicate to work.