Write an essay of 350 words on the following topic:

More and more children are performing their talents on reality shows. Some people welcome this as a way to nurture young talents; others are worried that rising to fame at such an early age may disrupt children’s personal development.

Present argumentation to highlight your opinion on this matter. Give reasons and specific examples to support your opinion(s).

Nowadays, it is trendy that a number of children participating in reality shows to perform their talents. It is thought by some that it is a good way to enhance those young talents, meanwhile, others believe this trend deteriorate children’s individual development. I would argue that performing talents publicly brings more drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are two reasons for the approval. Firstly, registering at TV shows or game shows is an opportunity for children to perform and show their skills as well as what they are good at. Furthermore, had children not been on reality shows, they would not have gained confidence and self- believe which are two crucial elements to lead a positive attitude towards life. Secondly, thanks to public performances, they can be provided with feedbacks not only from the examiners, guests but also from the audience. Therefore, they may speculate and realize whether they are on the right track, which continues this professional career or not. For example, Vietnam Got Talents which is a popular variety show where children show their innate talent and trained skills has been a very first step for many young participants to be favourite artists.

On the other hand, being on broadcast shows from an early age does harm to children. The first harmful effect is that the state of being famous and recognised by many people even in daily life caused exposed to private life and devalue individualism. It is obvious that young artists' joining events, going to school and test results have been on daily news and tabloids. Therefore, things easily get out of these youngsters’ hand and they may not feel the needed safety. Regarding the second negative effect, the fame earned from variety show has two sides which either praise children or discourage them. The young gifted can receive a bunch of compliments, including exaggerated ones when they do well and consequently, prone to be disrespectful towards others. Meanwhile, when they stuck to some mistakes or mishaps, they are decidedly under a great pressure of criticism, causing mental illness and depression. Finally, in an attempt to comfort the public eye, talented teenagers tend to alter themselves. For instance, maturity has been a trendy concept in many arts product, therefore, the more mature their appearance is, the more famous they are likely to become. Undoubtedly, the young get lost and fade their original personality traits away.

In conclusion, in hope of protecting children from early fame harms, it is a joint activity between their parents and the public in a way which contemplates rigorously and controls strictly children activities.