You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Many people believe that the news media have become influential on people's lives. However, this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Write at least 250 words.

With the unprecedented boom of technology, people are entitled to access myriad of its applications including news media. Some people believe that news media has detrimental influence on people's lives; however, I l think that it is likely to bring many benefits for humanity.

The regular use of news media is supposed to engender benefits for both individuals and societies. When it comes to individuals, it is possible for them to keep abreast of latest information around the world, which means they are able to gain manifold kinds of knowledge without travelling to other countries. As a result, they can probably broaden their minds and save time as well expenses simultaneously, especially for indigent people. In terms of societies, news media can bridge the countries in the world for the common wealth. Specifically, the authorities can get hold of the situation of other countries without having a visit in person, therefore, they can evaluate issues objectively and avoid impetuous decisions which possibly cause them a lot of trouble after that. Moreover, thanks to this kind of media, countries can find the most beneficial strategies for the development of countries.

However, there are people who boycott the use of news media with the pretext that it can affect people adversely. They excuses that news media can mislead people and direct them to the viewpoint that authors want. In fact, this perspective is somehow fallacious. Articles expected to published are likely to be verified prudently beforehand and people nowadays are educated enough to check the authentification of information that they access. Therefore, news media is encouraged these days to arm people with necessary knowledge so they can get updates of nascent events around the world.

In conclusion, the existence of news media is not deleterious to people's lives but people can benefit significantly from it. It not only brings people huge amount of knowledge but also connects countries together to resolve problems and accelerate development.