You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Fossil fuels, such as coal, oil and natural gas, are used in many countries. The use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, is encouraged. Is this trend a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The question of whether using renewable resources is a positive trend or not has raised much interest in

the public eye. While some people support this statement, there are others who condemn it for their

own reasons. Personally, I completely agree that the use of alternative energy is a beneficial

development.

There are two main reasons why using alternative sources of energy is referred to as a positive

improvement. First and foremost, using this type of sources can protect the environment. To be more

specific, when using some energy like wind or solar power, the amount of carbon dioxide is reduced

considerably in the atmosphere. Hence, it prevents the possibility of the greenhouse effect. For

instance, electricity is the result of renewable resources. In addition, using some means of transport

which use electricity can have positive effects on both the environment and people’s health as they

nearly do not emit any fumes.

Apart from the advantage expressed above, I believe that using renewable resources can also make the

energy prices stable. A good illustration for this case is that unlike fossil fuels expenses, which are

getting much higher because of the scarcity and limitation of the resources, alternative sources of

energy are unlimited and common. Therefore, their prices may not fluctuate or rise too much.

Furthermore, this also benefits the residents, who are living in poverty and do not have the ability to

pay for fossil fuel.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that using alternative sources

of energy is an advantageous development because it can benefit both the environment and the

residents. This kind of energy should be encouraged to use more in the future.