You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

In the past, lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students in a classroom. Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new approach in teaching?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

These days, Internet technology is developing faster than ever and its reach is extending, including in the education sector. The traditional instructional methods are changing as a result. In general, technology-driven new methods create positive changes to educational works, but they also have some drawbacks.

Smart electronic devices like laptops, smartphones and so on are widely familiar with people all around the world, and a lot of lessons are delivered through them on the Internet. Many students have access to these smart devices and the internet, and they learn new information and gather knowledge from the Internet. They tend to use the devices to learn new things and understand difficult lessons. Also, educators design courses with videos, assignments, or challenges with other members, so that students are excited about their lessons and can practice more easily. This method of learning is fun and more interactive.

But the new technologies also have some disadvantages like spending more time and effort to produce the lectures and students must have smart devices to access the courses. To release the best lessons and help students understand clearly, teachers must take more time to prepare their courses with more illustrations, pictures, or animations. Also, they must learn how to use tools or platforms in producing lectures. They also need to learn specialised online learning software and maintain the platform that they are teaching. Furthermore, students must have smart devices to visit these platforms and learn.

To conclude, although teachers and students face some negative effects such as spending more time or money to develop lectures and must have smart devices to learn, technology-driven education has many positive effects. It provides more interactive ways to learn.