Young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that young generation tends to choose the big cities to be settled instead of living in their houses from remote areas. There are a variety of reasons to explain this problem, in my opinion, these are outweighed by the drawbacks of this trend.

On the one hand, there are two prime causes that lead to urban migration of young adults. Firstly, they have countless opportunities to seek a good job in the city, especially the developing city where the new-established companies offer the huge number of employees. Thus, they could reach a high standard of living to fulfil their families’needs. Secondly, there are numerous universities for students to choose in terms of many fields of study like banking, technology, and economy. Youngsters would be mature enough to live independently through the vital soft skills in life because they had to live far from their homes.

On the other hand, I believe that there are great disadvantages to be gained. One reason is that the developed cities would deal with harmful problems such as traffic jam, population explosion, and pressure on infrastructure and services. Take Ha Noi which is a densely populated city in Viet Nam as an example, if they hang out at peak hours, they can be seemed to be that pollution is caused by overusing private vehicles as cars or motorbikes. In addition, a widening gap between urban areas and countryside makes people living in rural areas feel dissatisfied and unfair. While the big cities gained a large workforce to promote the economy, the rural dwellers were rather hard to make ends meet due to lack of both skilled workers and professional leaders.

In conclusion, it is no doubt that living in a big city is a good chance for young people in regard to educational opportunities and personal life, I would argue that this tendency has more negative impact on society than positive effects.