Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantage

Friends with the same age can be the main contributor in the changes of demeanor of several juveniles nowadays. This essay will argue that the advantages of this development are eclipsed by the disadvantages involved.

It is undeniable that peer pressure can be advantageous to a certain extent, in terms of reinforcing positive habits and attitudes of youngsters in social and scholastic terms. There is a tendency for the students to take their classmates, who have a close intimacy, as a role model. As a result, if peers set a good model to their counterparts, they can achieve improvement in both academic and social aspects. Take the Road to Mount Olympia show as an example, when young people watch others with the same age, this may encourage them to promote their desire to be goal-oriented and fulfill their dreams of intellectual accomplishment.

The drawbacks brought about by being influenced by those who are in the same age group, nevertheless, could far outweigh the aforementioned benefits. Perhaps one of these is the mental issues of many young students. This is because stress or pressure originated from the comparison among the children, this would make the children fear of expressing themselves in public or they are potentially socially-distanced from their friends or families. More seriously, this can be an alarming issue as the worst consequence that may follow is suicide. Japan, for example, witnessed the dramatic increase in the number of young suicide, at 70% men aged from 22 to 44 in 2009.

In conclusion, peer pressure can offer several benefits. However, this phenomenon can produce some negative impacts which are of greater significance