Young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, despite multiple all-out efforts and vigorous measures of the states to diminish the rate of adolescents committing felonies, it is lamentably manifest that the number of immature culprits shows no signs of abating. Therefore, there exists such a highly charged argument as to whether juvenile delinquents should be penalized in the same ways as adults. Within the framework of this essay, I will throw light on why I dissent from the aforementioned idea.

First and foremost, it goes without saying that when passing sentence on young perpetrators, the authorities have a moral obligation to place a high premium on extenuating mitigating circumstances. Explicitly, youngsters at an impressionable age are immature in cognition, psychology and physical conditions, thus easily induced to offend unintentionally rather than organised crimes or repeated wrongdoings. Besides, these days, teenagers are bombarded with violence, pornography and bloody programs from the mass media, hence apt to mimic what they have seen and watched. Hence, if youngsters’families do not give them an appropriate education and exert control over the contents they are allowed to get access to, adolescents will definitely be led to offending without acknowledging of the adverse consequences of their misdeeds. All in all, from the above reasons to avoid provoking outrage from the public, it is advisable that the juries consider these factors when condemning young lawbreakers.

Furthermore, besides ensuring the fairness of justice, the conviction of immature offenders is supposed to assess educational aspect, enabling immature criminals to stand a chance of restoring law and order, especially with ones offending for the first time. Obviously, prolonging youngsters’ prison term will minimize the educational lessons in these sentence, the main purpose of punishment to this group is to educate them the significance of upholding the law instead of penalizing them for being ignorant of the law. And giving them stringent penalties can make them lose the opportunities to reintegrate back into society; thus, they may re-offend. Instead, sending them to the rehabilitation centres where they are educated and trained properly is a more effective form of punishment.

In conclusion, according to what stated above, I believe that young convicts do not deserve to serve harsh punishment as adults do.