In your opinion, should children choose their profession or should their parents choose for them ?

Young people nowadays became more concerned about making their own decisions and particularly about deciding on their future career. Meanwhile, some parents prefer to select their children’s professions. In my opinion, I believe that young individuals should be given the complete freedom to make that choice independently . Acting upon, this essay will shed light on the importance of independent decisions concerning one’s professional life.

First of all, each individual is undoubtedly fully aware of his own passion as well as points of weaknesses and strengths more than anyone else. To explain, if young people choose what they like to do and what they are good at, they will be more likely to put their heart and soul into it and that’s the ideal formula of success. Take for example, recent studies has shown that around 75 percent of successful figures all over the world went against their parents’ earlier wishes for their careers.

Secondly, choosing one’s occupation can give a sense of ownership and satisfaction. To clarify, young people need to feel they owe the right to decide who they will be in the future and to select the workplace, of their dreams, where they can reflect their interpersonal skills. For example , and based on a personal experience, a friend of mine adhered to her father’s decision and worked as an accountant. Even though, she still doesn’t have enough ability to do it besides her permanent feeling of isolation and negligence on social relationships.

To conclude, parents should understand that if they desire a leading, successful and satisfying career path for their children, they should let them choose their future jobs on their own.