05/11/2017

Nowadays many people are diagnosed with anorexia what do you think the causes of this are? What can be done to improve the situation?

Anorexia is seen by many like a plague of XXI century because a number of those who were diagnosed with the illness keeps growing steadily. Below possible causes of the trend and actions that can be done to fight it back will be discussed in details.

To begin with, many aver the main source of the problem is today’s society with its unrealistic standards of attractiveness that are being promoted by supermodels, singers and actors. Any person who watches movies or reads magazines may decide she or he is not beautiful or handsome enough and anorexia will be developed. Furthermore, some psychological and sociological studies demonstrate individuals may get anorexia in response to difficult or challenging situations. Experts claim when a person loses control over his or her life, developing anorexia may be perceived as a way to overcome the issue and get a feeling of being in charge. Those are several factors that contribute to the advancement of the trend.

However, the troublesome trend may be effectively addressed. Firstly, novel and more realistic standards of beauty must be designed and then imposed. If manufacturers of fashionable goods and expensive clothes hire normally built males and females, the understanding of what is attractive to the public will change and the viewers of the commercials and performances will not absorb unachievable standards of appearance. In fact, Germany, France, Spain, Italy and the United Kingdom have passed novel edicts that will regulate body size and weight of models that show clothes. Secondly, anorexia is a disease and if it is spotted early, it can be cured relatively quickly and cheaply. Thus, governments, public organizations and charities must focus their attention and effort on raising awareness of the public. The implementation of this idea may dramatically decrease the number of deaths from the illness. Those are possible actions that might alleviate the discussed issue.

To sum up, the mass media and advertising forge fantastic standards to sell promoted products. If the sellers are forced to lower their requirements to actions’ appearance and public’s awareness is increased, the trend may be stopped or even turned around.