07/10/2017

Some people think that the detailed criminal description on newspaper and TV has bad influences, so this kind of information should be restricted on the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many aver giving detailed information about crimes committed via TV and printed media has an adverse impact on the public. Thus, this practice ought to be prohibited. I disagree with this prospect and below the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details.

On the other hand, publishing detailed criminal description leads to some disadvantageous consequences. Firstly, people who routinely and regularly watch programs and read articles in magazines that are full of bloody details and horrible nuances of crimes have become accustomed to this after a while. So, violence in its many forms becomes a new norm of life. Secondly, those who were involved in the gory events such as victims, survivors and their relatives may be hurt by unwanted public attention drawn to them by the publications. For instance, TV reporters and writers often pursue those who somehow suffered from violence and illegal actions and a young victim of a rape or a father of a killed daughter will be repeatedly asked to give interviews on the painful topics. Those are main disadvantages of the discussed trend.

On the other hand, demonstration and description of crimes on the screen and paper have some positive effects. Primarily, rising people’s awareness about actions and circumstances that provoke violence may tremendously help people to avoid being involved in such horrible events. To exemplify, if people knew that robbers usually break into houses that do not have a dog in the backyard or inside the home, the informed public would likely buy a dog to deter criminals. Furthermore, the publishing detailed info about committed crimes will likely attract people’s attention to the problematic situation and this wave of discontent will probably force politicians, government officials and police officers to take some actions to tackle the problem. Thus, the number of violent crimes committed will decrease. In other words, the discussed trend has some advantageous aftermaths.

In conclusion, although a detailed description of law violations has some shortages, the merits of this practice definitely outweigh them.