Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Money is undoubtedly important for western society; we tend to estimate each other's success in terms of income and possessions. Than more you make money, than more your life is successful. From this point of view, an idea that educational institutions should stimulate students to choose fields which will give them opportunity to make a decent income is reasonable. However, as far as I am concerned, implementation of this policy will hurt interests of students and society as a whole due to the fact the profitable career is not the best way to measure success of a person.

First of all, teachers and professors are professionals who have enough knowledge and authority to steer their student to choosing any careers. In fact, sometimes, educators may give a piece of valuable advice. For instance, when my mother was a student her teacher of chemistry and biology recommended her pursuing career in medicine. The advice was based on his observations of mother's personal characteristics such us kindness and desire to help others. She followed the advice and became a nurse. Since than my mother regularly thanks her educator for his suggestion which steered direction of her life. Although her profession gives her a decent income, she is happy owing to the fact that she literally helps other people and her life is useful. The career brings her happiness and satisfaction with her life.

And this is the crucial point, although educators should steer students’ choice, advice should be based on students’ possibilities and inclinations rather than on their future income and possibilities to have a lucrative career. Educators are able to understand their students the best way possible, they have access to their scores and results of exams; therefore they have all needed information to give a valuable advice. But the base for this suggestion is questionable.

One may state that lucrative career is the most important thing in the life, that money is the essence of our existence, that they brings us happiness and satisfaction but this position is a not true. May we say that Mahatma Gandhi who led a pious life, who did not earn millions of dollars had unhappy and unsuccessful life? In other words, despite the fact that money and income is important, they are not the absolute means for measurement of one's success.

In conclusion, although lucrative career is desirable and money is important for western culture, the educators should not base their suggestion solely on supposed income in a certain field. The teachers and professors who have possibility impact on life of their students, should base their recommendations and advice on interests of students and their possibilities.