12. With the development of online communication, people will never be alone and will always be able to make new friends. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, online communication is becoming universally popular, the number of users increase rapidly. People strongly believe that thanks to it, not only will loneliness permanently disappear in their lives but social communication is likely to provide them with an opportunity to make friends with others. I completely agree with this statement for several reasons.

Firstly, online communication centers around the world are helping users to easily connect regardless of geographical distances. Today's social media platforms have user-friendly interfaces in which online friends are recommended based on the user’s profile information. This facilitates the friend-making process without having to leave one's comfort zone. Also, such means of communication ensures that one will be constantly provided with friend suggestions as a way to enhance online experiences. For example, Tinder and other online dating apps match users with multiple potential individuals that share common interests.

Secondly, the online world has a vast number of people from different backgrounds. As per the growing popular trend, more and more people feel the need to join the digital world. This creates a sense of collectivity and togetherness amongst users that there are always people they can reach out to. This sense is further enhanced by insights that are given into others' personal lives and interests. For example, each Facebook user has what is called a 'newsfeed' - a news bulletin with updates on what their friends share their activities.

In conclusion, the large number of online users and ease of connection have made online communication a convenient tool to make friends and avoid loneliness.