28/10/2017

Some people think that a car is the best way to travel in cities while others believe a bicycle is a better way. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue driving an automobile appears to be the best way to move around in a megalopolis. Other claim riding a bicycle is a more beneficial and efficient way to do so. Below both prospects will be analyzed and author’s opinion will be given.

On the one hand, there are some conspicuous advantages in having a vehicle. Firstly, a car allows saving a considerable volume of time because may city dwellers inhabit in the suburbs but work in the center. To illustrate, an average trip from a house to a workplace may take up to forty minutes if a car is being used, but the same journey by but will take an hour and a half. Secondly, safety is another serious merit. For instance, personal items of a motorist are safe, he will not contract a flue from someone or have an unpleasant argument with a strange while commuting. So, driving a car makes a life of a driver better and less stressful. Those are benefits associated with ownership of a private vehicle.

On the other hand, moving around on a bicycle has some supporters as well. Primarily, they point to health benefits that are acquired while riding a bike. One of the biggest is the dramatic decrease of a likelihood of having a heart attack and an overall advantageous impact on fitness and mood of a rider. Furthermore, there are many economic incentives. An owner of a two-wheel transport does not buy gasoline or pay taxes for having a car. The absence of an engine means there is no an expensive maintenance service needed. In other words, a bicycle possesses many positive characteristics that make it an attractive mean of transportation.

In my opinion, both an auto and a bicycle have valuable features but, perhaps, a car is more suitable for those who live far away from their work and a bike is better for happy individuals whose offices are situated near their homes.