30/10/2017

Some people think that higher salary is important when choosing a company to work for, while others think that good atmosphere at a workplace is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion with relevant examples.

Many aver being paid a big salary should be the main criterion for choosing a workplace while others claim having a pleasant atmosphere at an office is more crucial. Below both prospects will be analyzed and author’s opinion will be given.

On the one hand, picking a job position with a higher pay is a reasonable idea. Firstly, the size of a bank account is often seen as a measurement of a personal success and the amount of money earned per year has a correlation with a social status: the higher salary is, the higher social position the individual occupies. Secondly, today’s standards of living depend on the person’s income. So, by choosing bigger income, an employee creates better living conditions for his beloved sons, daughters and spouse. In other words, taking into consideration a size of a wage is a right thing to do because it correlates with a position in social hierarchy and well-being of dependants.

On the other hand, those who pay attention to the atmosphere at a workplace have their arguments. Primarily, many psychological studies demonstrate the connection between a friendly and joyful atmosphere in an office and a feeling of happiness and satisfaction of those who labor there with their lives. Furthermore, the same research showcases the correlation between the productivity of workers and their perception of working experiences. Shortly, a positive perception of a job leads to a dramatic increase in the volume of work done. The possible explanation to this founding was given by the researchers who believed the feeling of being a part of a large team whose members shares the same goals encourages people to collaborate with one another. Thus, it is safe to say working at a place with a decent atmosphere has some advantages.

In my opinion, although each prospect has its strong facets and weaknesses, I am personally prone to think choosing a job with a beneficial atmosphere is more reasonable because people spend a huge proportion of their adult life working. So, if a job provides folks with pleasant feelings, it is a better choice.