According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction.

How far do you agree with this opinion?

Internet has become the foundation and pivotal point for all forms of communication across the globe. Spending more time on internet based communication technologies has left people with less time for in person interaction. This has caused public make more concerned of the adverse effects of the internet on the social activities and not what it has to offer for the development of the global communication technologies. While I admit that the internet has negative impact on the interactions in the communities, I strongly believe that the contribution it makes towards develop the world-wide sharing of information is main.

One aspect of the public opinion towards the cyberspace is that the contribution it makes towards develop the world-wide communication is phenomenal. This notion is clear when the number of services which operates based on the internet is considered. World Wide Web being the foremost, the number of people who use it on daily basis to use information and for entertainment is phenomenal. Moreover, platforms such as online learning, conferencing and collaborating are enhancing peoples’ lives in an unprecedented way, bringing the human kind send in leaps.

On the other hand, people are concerned of the damaging effect it causes on the social interaction. This would naturally happen as people spend more time on communicating and accessing information through the internet. However, in my opinion, the benefit that people get during the time that they would otherwise use in social interaction, is far greater than the lost opportunity. For example, there is world famous internet savvier who are well into the social events and collaboration activities.

To recapitulate, people are of concern that the social impact of the internet in the sense of the interaction, is considerable than the contribution it makes towards the global communication. In my opinion, the contribution internet is making towards the global communication surpass its disadvantages towards the social aspects. Therefore, I do not believe that the people ought to be concerned of the social effects caused due to less time they have on social interaction.