Adults do less exercise nowadays. Some think that people can be encouraged to live healthy live through sporting events such as the Olympics or the World Cup. Others think that there are better ways to encourage adults for exercise.

Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Exercising has become less popular among people, especially adults, throughout the world. While some believe athletic events can stimulate people to have a healthier lifestyle, others claim there are more efficient solutions to this issue.

The supporters of the idea that sporting contests are a way of encouraging exercising point out that these events are likely to have positive impacts on public opinion. Being role models for a large population of the world, athletes can easily encourage the public to be more physically active. People would also become motivated to do exercise when they see sportsmen who normally live longer and healthier. This is why usually after international sporting events, such as the Olympics or the World Cup, a significant number of people may join health clubs. For example, after the London Olympics, the number of members of sports clubs in England had remarkably increased.

On the other hand, I believe there are more effective approaches to this problem. Having lots of responsibilities, adults usually neglect to do sports. Governments should educate the public about the constructive influences of working out on both the physical and mental condition of a person. People should be aware that if they did sports, they would have become less stressed-out and more concentrates, meaning that they can be more efficient in their personal and professional lives. Also, spending most of their time in the offices, adults generally mention lack of time as an excuse for their sedentary lifestyles. If the workplaces allocate specific hours and days to exercise, employees can be more physically active. For instance, in some technology giant companies, such as Facebook, staffs have such facilities, also resulting in better outcomes for employers two of which are having more productive and creative workers.

In conclusion, I believe although sports competitions can motivate people to do exercise, it has short-term efficacy; so it is reasonable to use more long-lasting practices such as raising public awareness and providing exercise equipment at the workplaces.