Adults do very less exercise these days.

Some people think that showing sporting events on the television such as Olympics and World Cup tournaments can be the best way to encourage adults to do exercise. Others believe there are other effective ways to do so.

Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Nowadays, adults all over the globe are giving less importance to active lifestyle due to their sedentary living habits, and are suffering from various life threatening diseases. Some experts opine that telecasting of various international sporting events on television could overcome this problem; however, others and me believe that there are myriad of other ways which are more effective, and could encourage individuals to exercise on regular basis.

Proponents of broadcasting popular sporting events such as, Olympics and World cup tournaments, argue that while watching these types of programs, people are encouraged to remain fit. This is because, sports fans follow their favourite athletes rigorously, and try to replicate the same healthy lifestyle in their daily routines. For instance, World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) has encouraged millions of youngsters worldwide to join gymnasiums and build their physiques like their favourite wrestling stars. Nevertheless, those die-hard fans are able to follow this fitness regime for a very short period as when they become adults, they are unable to continue this hobby due to their tedious work schedules and become careless about their health.

In order to find a permanent solution to this phenomenon, policymakers should come forward and help people in plethora of ways. Firstly, government should develop modern recreational centers in every locality of a city, and these activity centers should be subsidized. This way, people from low-income group would be encouraged to join the fitness regime without putting an extra burden on their pockets, and follow fitness regime seriously and permanently. Secondly, lawmakers should proactively advertise the drawbacks of not having exercise regularly through TV and radio advertisements. Citizens listen to their elected leaders very seriously, and follow their advise whole heatedly. All these practical measures could result in encouraging people to inculcate exercise in their daily schedule for their lifetime.

In conclusion, although telecasting major sports activities regularly on television could entice people to live actively, but this measure is short lived. I believe that, governments should provide abundance of subsidized leisure activity centers to its citizens, and sensitise them about the benefits of doing regular exercise to make their adult population healthy and fit for the lifetime.