Advantage/Disadvantage EssayConsumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Undoubtedly, consumer items have gained ultimate importance lately. Although they save one's time and have improved the living standard, they have made lives more materialistic and self-centered. I believe that consumer goods are entirely beneficail for man if used wisely.

On one hand, conusmer goods save the precious time of people. If one has to order a product, it can be ordered via e-commerce using mobile or computer and the product would be delivered at door in no time. Therefore, one does not need to specially make time for such commitments. It not only save time, but money and energy spent in visiting the markets too. A report told that a great number of people these days are taking advantage of doing shopping online with getting their items received at their houses.

Furthermore, with advancement in the field of consumer goods, the quality of lives have become far better than ever. People are now working harder and diligently to improve their quality of life by purchasing certain goods such as air conditioner. This in turn has increased the productivity and ultimately the economy of the country.

On the other hand, excessive consumption of consumer goods have changed the personalities of people. People of contemporary era are far more materialistic than before. They try to accumlate more and more fancy and innovative items to impress others, and be considered as laud and well-off. Such behaviour has made one to be self-centered who has no concern for others.

Also, it has increased the incidence of psychological disorders in community. Because everyone cannot afford the costly products like iphone, they can fall into depression be seeing others having it whereas they are not. An article read that incidence of mental illness has alarmingly increased in this present era of running behind materialistic things both in high and low socioeconomic class.

To conclude, while consumer goods have increased the mental problems, they have positive impact on one' daily life by improving the quality. I believe the wise use of it can make our lives blessing as its advantages far outweigh the disadvantages.