Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?Has this become a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there have been two opposing views on the impacts of cutting-edge technology on human interactions. Some people claim technological development has a positive influence on human relationship while others argue it has negative effects. From my perspective, I concur with the second point of view, believing that the drawbacks of this trend far outweigh its benefits.

On the one hand, those who are optimistic about the development of technology believe it can facilitate social life. For example, more and more young people make new friends around the world through different kinds of social media such as Instagram and Twitter. With a click of a button, they are able to interact through their computers and smartphones anytime and anywhere.

On the other hand, opponents contend that technology has adversely affected human relationship because it brings some misfortune to people. For instance, a lot of US teenagers have been reported to suffer cyberbullying. A high school girl committed suicide after she was verbally assaulted for her appearance on the Internet.

In my opinion, technology development has a toll on human interaction, for it brings a lot of harms to people. Technology is developed to help human beings rather than cause them trouble. Despite the fact that the internet facilitates people’s social life and broadens their horizon, it results in a lot of unfortunate things such as suicide, cyberbullying and online deception, all of which are not the original purpose of technological development.

To recapitulate, people hold different perspectives on how technology has changed the way people interact. Some claim it is beneficial to all people whereas others fear that this development is a stumbling block to human relationship. As for me, the downsides of technology surpass its benefits, so people should be aware of their over-reliance on this modern development.