Are romantic movies damaging to real relationships?

The image of love relationship in romantic movies is idealized, therefore people form a somewhat wrong idea of relationships. These ideas actually influences relationships, but it has negative effects as well as positive.

Romantic relationships in movies mostly show the first stage, known as honeymoon phase, of relationships. This is the period when partners are full of emotions and feelings, so the love between them is also full of energy. Honeymoon period of relationship is the magical period which is full of happy moments. Movie characters do incredible things to reach their love like making crazy love declarations or coming from the other corner of the world to just spend couple of hours with their partner. However, as the relationship wears on, emotions become blurred and feelings become weaker than in the past. As a result, those who watch movies do not get the full idea of successful relationships; people think that if the feelings are not as they used to be, then there are no reasons to continue the relationship.

Relationships are not just love and emotions. There are movies describing the complexity of relationship. They show other, different from love, aspects a true healthy relationship includes. Love undoubtedly is a solid basement on which relationship is built, it defines the strength of emotional connection between partners. However, dealing or living with another person can create problems, which can not be solved only by love; those problems challenge both sides. Majority of people who are not ready simply give up, because of the lack of information on dealing with it. It is important to understand that building healthy and long-lasting relationship requires development of many aspects and qualities. Qualities such as loyalty, trust, assistance and appreciation are essential. These sides of relationship are also illustrated in the movies, but they often slip away from the viewers' sight, because usually these qualities are granted to the supporting roles, such as main characters' parents. Although honeymoon period of relationship is the magical period, but the real magic happens after when two people overcome difficulties and stresses that occur in relationships.

From my point of view, movies do influence the way people see relationships. However, it is jot true that its effects are only negative, people can also get useful knowledge about relationships through this movie genre.