Are women suitable to become police officers? Give your reasons and examples.

There are many occupations which have clear differences or favor, appropriateness in two genders, for instance, police officers. This job has a gender specificity which causes an argument that: Are women suitable to become police officers. From my point of view, I strongly believe that this job is not for women owing to the three reasons that I will point out in this essay.

To begin with, women's physical restriction is one of the obstacles in their work. Due to the differences between man and woman's body, women are usually biologically weaker, which often makes it hard for them in some jobs requiring physical strengths. Female police will meet some disadvantages when they execute their mission, for example, when they fight or chase after the crimes, suppress the negative rebellion, etc. Consequently, female police may be sometimes exhausted when they have to perform hard missions and may not do as good as male ones do.

In the second place, women usually lack some essential virtues in this work such as: assertive, decisive or strict etc. Women are often emotional, sensitive and a little bit too tolerant sometimes, which may be not really suitable with a police officer in some circumstances . Also, the working environment of police officers is often very harsh and struggling as they have to be exposed with many dangerous crimes, have to deal with many troubles and problems in a wise and quick way and suffer many pressures, which may be such hard work with women.

Last but not least, women also have to undergo many other difficulties such as social notions or family duties. More specifically, many families object to their daughters or their wives pursuing the career of a policewoman as they think this job is too struggling and hard with a woman. Besides, it’s often thought that being a police will take time of looking after children or doing domestic chores of a woman, which may have a certain influence on her family life. Also, when women get pregnant and have children, their strengths may decline and this may affect their job later.

In spite of these obstacles above, women still can pursue their passion and choose to be a police officer as women also have unwavering will and strength, physical improvement through practicing. However, I will keep my opinion that women shouldn’t be a police officer owing to the reasons above and moreover, there are many other occupations which are more suitable and appropriate with their characteristics and personalities. In conclusion, women shouldn’t be a police officer.