Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think that is? What could be done to encourage more pe

Art has been one of the building blocks of human civilization. It has been at the centre stage of many societies. But these days, it is slowly moving to the backstage. People are more focussed on science and technology compare to art. Of the many reasons of this attitude shift, main reasons are significant development in science and technology and lack of patronization from society and government.

Over the past couple of centuries, science and technology have made rapid progress and developments and have completely transformed the life of the common man. It has become part of every day life in terms of televisions, computers, mobiles, electronic gadgets. As a result, youngsters are more drawn towards making a career in science and technology, compare to Art.

Other main reason is lack of support from society and government in pursuing art. Artists are facing difficulty in earning a livelihood out of practising art form. In absence of steady source of income, people are moving towards science, business and technology in search of stable income.

Despite above factors, Art has not lost its sheen, it still has good support in the society. An encouragement from government in terms of subsidies to art schools, construction of venue for performing arts, awards for exemplary performance will help to revive interest in Art.