Biggest Tech Failures and Successes of 2017

The year of 2017 brought us numerous of new tech products and technologies as well as exposed some cybersecurity threats.

One of the features many people were waiting for is definitely a Face ID. Face ID is useful and convenient. You need just to take a look at your phone and it unlocks. But this technology has some weaknesses. And I don't even mean false non-recognitions like it happened during Apple presentation. That just makes Face ID less user-friendly but not dangerous and Touch ID has the same problem if you try to unlock your phone with a wet finger. If you have a twin brother, then using this type of ID can become a problem. I think in future it can be improved to make everyone be able to use it safely.

Smart Watches brought back watches to life. There was a time when phones replaced watches because you could easily check the time on your smartphone. Now things are changing, and Smart Watches can potentially replace smartphones. They already have some helpful functions which your smartphone has. You can check your messages using it or set an alarm clock. Maybe one day we'll have virtual screens like you can see in movies when they project picture in the air. In this case, you don't even need your phone anymore because it's too big. You can use your Smart Watch instead. You can read from a virtual screen and type on a virtual keyboard. It would be even more convenient because it's way harder to lose a watch, which is always attached to your hand, than a phone.

I think that even though sometimes using technologies we face some problems, we have more advantages out of it. Technologies make our life easier and give us more free time for learning, spending time with friends and family and improving technologies.