For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

As people increasingly rely on computer technology and the Internet, every aspect of our lives has become easier. I totally agree with the idea that computer skills should be valued as much as reading, writing and math skills.

Computers have boosted our study efficiency greatly. For example, if students have difficulty in learning at school or do not understand some certain points of a math problem, they can turn to searching some learning materia online to help them fully digest what they were confused about or complement what they missed in class. In addition, there are many distant learning programmes through which learners can watch video lessons recorded by renowned professors from top universities all around the world. They can also interact with lecturers via software tools or email which help them acquire the same amount of knowledge as in bricks and mortar schools. By contrast, those students who do not master computer skills may not be able to take advantage of online resources and achieve academic success.

Computers can increase the productivity of the workforce. With the development of mechanization in agriculture, industry and other sectors of economy, labor-saving equippment has been invented to facilitate production. We have to realize that all these facilities are controlled by computer or other devices with CPU kernel, and that is why we need to study computer science and technology in order to invent, utilize and repair these machines. Moreover, almost all office workers are using softwares, such as Word, Excel and PowerPoint, to increase their work efficiency. Therefore, it is hard to imagine a world where there are no computer and the Internet, and it it essential to include computer skills into the compulsory courses list so that students can be better prepared for employment.

From what has been discussed, it it fair to say that computer has become an indispensable item in our lives. We should add computer skills to the educational list for either learning or employment reason.