Certain personal qualities cannot be achieved through university studies. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples

In modern competitive word, many people believe that chasing after academic courses help in building their career and certain people opine that in this race, these people are losing important traits. I completely agree that education cannot develop important personal qualities like dedication, loyalty, honesty, politeness act as precursor towards your professional life and in addition without having the trait of tolerance towards other’s faith, it may be impossible to construct a tolerant society.

Firstly, many academic courses like engineering, law and accounts merely focuses on technical parts of the subject. During the course, they just cram the ideas, spending several hours, leading them to aspirant whose main aim of life is to draw higher salaries which can render them a luxurious life. People from these school of thought always tend to run low on important qualities as mentioned above. Without these personal qualities, they may be a boon in certain businesses in initial stage but over the passage of time they do not reflect significant qualities hence they fail to prove their ability and earn respect in their respective fields.

For instance, as per survey conducted by American times magazine in 2012 on charismatic leaders , it was proved that without having the personal qualities, individuals could not reach to leadership position in their respective fields and consequently they start developing negative attitude and fails to make a significant impression in their lives as well as their professions.

With the student exchange program and globalization, world is moving towards the place where people of different cultures and faith need to exist and work together. In this scenario, tolerance needs to be imbibed in these citizens. Until now, most of the education system in the world have not started any major programme to address the issues which may be arising from above developments. For example, in India since the partition of countries, Indian curriculum have shown the contribution of national leaders like Mr. Mahatma Gandhi, Mr. Jawaharlal lal Nehru who stressed on pluralistic society and tolerant society. This particular factor has acted as precursor to develop an Indian nation as most tolerant nation among its neighboring countries

To sum up, I believe that education fails to imbibe personal qualities which contributes to one’s carrier and does not address the concept of tolerance which is important to construct a pluralistic society