Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home and at school. To what extent do you agree?

Television nowadays has become more and more popular. An average family can own at least one TV. As a result, diversified programs are consumed everyday by not only adults but also by children. It is undeniable that watching Television brings some certain benefits to the latter. However, I strongly believe kids should not be encouraged to watch TV regularly at home and at school.

Firstly, inappropriate contents may cause harm to children. It is commonly known that many TV shows or channels are designed for a wide range of age. They can be for the old people, teenager, adult, or kid, etc. Let's imagine if our child sees the 18 plus or too violent scenes, he will have trouble with his mind remembering those moments without getting a proper knowledge about them. When growing up, he might tend to be violent-obsessed or worse, copy and apply what he saw into real life, which is totally a different story. On the other way, what is seen as suitable for babies such as cartoon will bring bad effect if being consumed too much because little fact or lesson can be drawn from it. Therefore, the control or selection over TV programs is fundamental for the young generation to grow.

Secondly, spending time with television is a passive way of learning. Kids simply take in whatever shown and barely seek for new things. It is quite a dependent method which later on might easily destroy the child's ability to think and to question. What is more, this study method also deteriorates the reading habit as it promotes listening and watching moving pictures. Consequently, the intelligence and potentials of a child are limited and it is hard for him to pursue higher education.

Finally, there should be combination between watching Tv and other activities to make sure comprehensive growth of our kids. For example, reading books helps to boost imaginary. Doing sport supports physical health and makes us happier. Or experiment undoubtedly brings back the deep understanding of things and phenomena. Last but not least, as simple as communication can also play a vital role in promoting thinking and interpersonal skill of a child. Generally, there are some better useful activities that parents and teachers can leverage for the young's learning journey.

In conclusion, adults had better not encourage children to watch television regularly at home and at school because of unclassified TV show and limitation of thinking and questioning skill. Besides, a smart mix among TV and other activities is the right formula leading to the complete maturation of our offspring.