Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television However television cannot replace the book as a learning tool which is why children are less well educated today To what extent do you agree with this statement

According to the importance and special place of television in today’s society and the large amount of time that children spend watching television, the quality of education has decline and children are less knowledgeable. So, I agree with this statement that book is irreplaceable with television as a learning tool.

Firstly, when the time of watching television replaces the time that children spend reading books, acquisition of reading skills will be delayed and their verbal reasoning becomes weak. however, it may improve their auditory ability but the books help children to read, write and make better decision.

Secondly, television has limited access to academic resources. instead, books have more variety; reading them help children to develop their comprehension and imagination. so, they become more creative to producing new ideas, have superior intelligence compared to children who tend to watch television over reading books and also, their brains become always alert and they are able to cooperate more than children who only watch television programs.

On the other hand, children like watching visual programs on screen like animations, cartoons and entertaining shows because they are more absorbing than educational programs.

More over, television can be a detrimental to children’s health, it can cause eye problems and also it gradually becoming a habit that children prefer it rather than important things like reading books. so, it makes them lazy.

In conclusion, it is obviously mentioned that watching television harms children’s academic performance and children spend their time in front of the television unproductively. so, books are more essential way of learning rather than television.