climate change is the biggest threat humans face today. how accurate is this statement? are there any bigger threats to mankind?

The most dangerous risk faced by the human race is global warming. This essay disagrees with the above statement because the innovative minds of mankind will ultimately find an advanced solution to the problem whereas one of the greatest issues is a pandemic outbreak.

Climate change is not the most grievous threat to humanity for this can be solved by reducing the carbon footprint on the earth. This is achieved by engaging in eco-friendly approaches to waste production and management. Significantly, the biodegradable wastes from houses, industries, sewage systems, and slaughterhouses can be dumped into pits for composting. While the non-biodegradable wastes such as cans and plastics can be recycled. These measures can considerably reduce greenhouse gas emissions into the atmosphere. The environmentalist foundation of India, for instance, estimated that 7 million tonnes of wastes were decomposed in landfills in the year 2019 which typically reduced 65% of methane and nitrous oxide in the environment.

Pandemic is a global emergency and the most threatening to the human population. This could damage human existence and can even cause its extinction permanently or temporarily destroying the human race on the earth. For example, Wuhan coronavirus has been in news recently which has spread from China ( birthplace of the virus) to other 26 countries killing at least 363 people and causing 10,000 million people at risk of infection within a week or so. Thus by the time a vaccination is propounded the outbreak can lead to a vast geographical area prone to this epidemic.

In conclusion, the change in the average temperature of the earth is a bigger problem but a pandemic is the most crucial issue the world is facing today. Since a climate change can be resolved by putting a vigilant eye on greenhouse gases and its emissions, thus conserving the damage already done while the latter threat mentioned is the most severe to the inhabitants of our planet as it affects exceptionally many regions in no time.