As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that learning foreign languages is unnecessary due to the availability of translation technology that is far more efficient. I’m in complete agreement with the argument as mastery of a language is not really needed to interact with foreigners and the time spent learning other languages can be put to better productive uses.

Tourists don’t need an extensive range of vocabulary when communicating with locals in the country they’re visiting and just need standard language. Translation devices are more than necessary to meet the needs of this group of people. During a leisure trip to Shanghai in 2018, I was able to rely entirely on Google translator to communicate with the locals. Equipped with technology, I was able to have very fruitful exchanges with the locals and learned a lot about the culture in Shanghai and its neighbouring attractions.

With the advances in language based technology, time and effort saved from not learning a new language can be put to more productive uses. Students and professionals can invest their time in honing their skills to increase their market value in today’s competitive world. International organizations don’t need to add translators to their workforce in global markets. For instance, LG relies entirely on translation software to print the instruction manuals for their products in different languages and don’t hire human translators anymore.

To conclude, I concur that advances in language translation technology has made learning languages redundant. It enables people to adequately converse with natives of other countries and instead of investing time acquiring language skills, they can explore other ways to improve their competitive edge.