Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

It is argued that zoos should be shut down as they’re cruel while others feel zoos have a role to play in conserving wild species. This essay will argue that despite zoos helping with the preservation of certain animals, they are taking away the freedom most animals would enjoy if they were in their natural habitat and hence should not be allowed to operate.

Human activities like deforestation and industrialisation have damaged the ecosystem and threatened the survival of many animals. Moreover, poaching is another activity that is pushing some animals to the brink of extinction. Such animals have been shifted to Zoos where special care is given to them to ensure they can thrive. Attempts have been made to try and replicate the natural habitat so that the animals feel at home. For example, Many Bengal tigers have been relocated to “safe” environments in Zoos due to the growing threat to their survival in the wild.

Protecting animals doesn’t necessarily mean putting them in a cage for the amusement of people and animal activists around the world vehemently disapprove of this practice . They feel that it is inherently cruel that an animal has to be taken away from its natural habitat and kept in a cage just for humans to look at. Moreover, these animals are deprived of the freedom that animals in the wild enjoy like moving around freely and in the case of predators, hunt for their prey. To illustrate, Lions in zoos usually look bored and don’t radiate the pride and majestic demeanor that you would associate with Lions found in the wild.

To conclude, while Zoos are important for the conservation of endangered species, it takes these animals away from their natural surroundings which could affect the well being of such animals in the long run. It is my opinion that Zoos should cease to operate in its current form as animals shouldn’t be put in cages in the name of conservation and human entertainment.