Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Use of alternative medicines is increasing day by day. Although some people argue that these methods are detrimental effects on our health, I believe that they do not have any side effect at all. This essay will first discuss why some medical community is not in favor of alternatives of conventional medicines, and then discuss how alternative medicines are proving effective and helpful. And they should be leveraged more if we use them in combination with traditional medicines.

One of the arguments against the use of alternatives of conventional medicine put forward by some medical communities is that there has not done enough scientific research to support their effectiveness. Mainly, traditional medicines are recommended by doctors because they are laboratory tested and only allowed to use after drugs regulatory bodies approval. So, to use alternative medicines which do not have sufficient evidence is often discouraged. Furthermore, as many people use these methods because they are recommended by their family members or friends, they go to the therapist with the positive attitude, which may be the part of the reason for the cure. Moreover, they are helpful for only long-term, chronic conditions. Acute medical problems, such as accidental injuries can be treated only by mainstream medicines.

Having said that, they are many arguments in favor of alternative medicines. Despite the lack of scientific research, there is a lot of anecdotal evidence to prove that they are proving helpful. So far, there is no a single case found where they caused more harm than good. Far from being dangerous, they do not have any side effects; the worst outcome would be no change. In addition to this, there is a strong evidence which proves their effectiveness, in the west, while conventional medicines are available for free, people are ready to pay for therapies. If they were unhelpful and insidious, people cannot continuously use them.

The upshot is, because of not enough scientific research, the medical community is often dismissive of alternative medicines, but they have their own strength and proved effective in many medical problems. I feel that they can be leveraged more by using them with conventional medicines.