Doctors should be responsible for educating their patients about how to improve their health.

Do you agree?

Health practitioners serve as a backbone in augmenting health condition of their patients and it is their moral duty to counsel patients about their ongoing disease condition and must suggest a way to extirpate it. This essay will agree with the statement followed by reasoned examples.

First and foremost, all professions have some job duties and it is the individual’s responsibility to deliver in a proper way. Educating patients about their ailments is one of the core role and responsibility of the physicians because they have studied medicine since years so their enormous experience in the relevant field makes them perfect source of information for the patient. For illustration, during treatment of tuberculosis, the doctor advice their patients about drug and food interactions along with the importance of being consistent in therapy because a single missed dose results in drug resistance.

Secondly, In this contemporary era, a major source of information is the internet and many people keep in my mind their symptoms and search for diseases. Without considering other factors, they do self-diagnosis and take self-medication therapy without knowing the devastating effects of this practice. Moreover, most of the data available on the internet regarding medical science is misleading whereas one must require prior knowledge to deal with such a condition. For instance, doctors design a therapy considering signs and symptoms, its possible adverse reactions and interactions with other drugs. Some drugs are contraindicated in some condition, hence, it is doctors duty to brief patient about all the possible ways to combat any haphazard situation.

To recapitulate, this essay agreed that everyone knows his business well, patient education is part of a doctor duty and due to background knowledge, they are considered as responsible for educating patients.