Does socializing on the internet have more advantages or disadvantages ?

Smart phones and socialising platforms on the internet is booming nowadays. People are preferring to communicate through this medium rather than having it face-to-face. In my opinion, it has a few pros but the cons of it is more.

First of all, In some point of view it has some advantages.The main benefit is that people can easily find their old school friends. As, people drift apart after completing their schools or colleges, Internet provides an option to stay in contact no matter how far they might be. To illustrate, one of my friend has moved over the UK but i recently found him due to Facebook. Moreover, a person can find somebody who has the same interest and they can have a larger group of friends, with whom, they can interact at any time and any place.

On the other hand, communicating on the internet has more drawbacks. The main problem is that the quality of friendship due to this technology has decreased dramatically. This is evident during times of calamity, as there would not be any social friend who would come to help. Secondly, due to this equipments, people also face problems related to health. For an example, according to The Times of India, it was reported that 30% children of India face the problem of eye strain or back pain from a young age.

Lastly, this platforms are not safe enough and people have complained about fake friends due to whom they have lost a lot of money and belongings. Internet is also a good place for people who want to hurt others by their rude behavior and hurtful comments. As they can hide behind the ananomity of the web.

In recapitulation, internet socialising platform is like a virtual world and people are disengaging from the real word. It does have it’s benefits but as my point of view, this virtual socialising is going to affect very badly in near future to the humans as well as the society as whole.