Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is believed that as a result of growing supermarkets in some countries, local businesses are not able to thrive. this has led to the belief that shutting down small business will lead to death of local communities.

I completely agree with this fact.

Firstly, local businesses such as fruits & vegetable shops help a lot of local people to take care of their families. By growing and selling these produce locally, farmers and locals are able to earn enough to feed themselves and take care of their families.

Secondly, when a produce is grown locally, there are no extra charges to be paid for packaging, delivery, transport or for middle men. this reduces the cost of the product and it is beneficial for the buyer as it is sold at a much cheaper price as compared to some of the supermarket products.

Last but not the least, local businesses also help the locals to gain employment and job security. this improves the standard of living of the poeple to a great extent. when a new shop is opened, it is an opportunity for the people to find jobs to educate their children. when there are enough jobs in their own home town, there is no real need to leave the place and go to the cities in search of jobs. this helps them to stay together with their families.

In conclusion, I would say, it is the responsibility of each individual to ensure that supermarkets do not replace local businesses and the Government should take strict action to stop this from happening. The welfare of local businesses should be taken seriously.