During last twenty years, the assessment of students has undergone a major transformation. Many educational institutions have shifted their focus from traditional examination towards a variety of innovative assessment techniques, as they believe traditional examination results are not often true to student’s ability.

A change in student evaluating process could be observed in the last two decades and formal examination has been less frequently used in many educational institutions in different parts of the world. The result of paper based exam, though used extensively in many schools, is believed to be less suitable for assessing the ability of a learner and I believe that it should be replaced by the modern approach.

To begin with, formal examinations, in many cases, do not reflect a pupil’s true ability and knowledge. Examination or any assessment criteria is meant to examine a student objectively, but a formal test fails to do it, especially because it involved memorise and pass technique. Further, formal exams do not consider someone’s health condition on the exam date and thus is unsuitable for many. Some students take more time to produce any result and though they take a longer time, they have better result producing capability. Traditional exams would also score these sorts of students poorly.

Having said that, unconventional form of testing a student’s skill and knowledge can be quite effective and bring out a better result. For instance, oral presentation, assignments, sudden quizzes, class tests, course work, and other modern methods of evaluation can examine students from various perspectives and when the result is combined, the indication is far more accurate. These tests scrutinise a learner’s creativity, knowledge depth, creativity, ability to use the knowledge in the practical world and are important parameters of a student’s reasoning and reflection of learning ability.

In conclusion, evaluating a learner accurately is utterly important and the best method for this should be in place. No doubt the formal examination system had been used for a long but the time has come to adopt more accurate and practical assessment system and hence the shift towards a combination of innovative assessment systems is inevitable.