Each year, the crime rate increases.

What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

From the last decade, the crime rate has sped up in a drastic way in addition to this every year new variant of crimes are recorded. I would blame the unemployment of youngsters and abuse of drugs in the society among new generations and the probable solution to this is a rehabilitation of criminals and control on youth steps.

The loss of focus on growth and future prospectus is one of the main reason to rise in criminal activities in the society. Jobs and higher education entangled the most of the youth population in daily activities and in future plannings, which indirectly makes them disciplined and matured enough to build their future independently. Take an example, countries with most numbers of unemployed youth have the higher rate of criminal activities such as Uganda, where most of the youths are jobless. Statistical data for last year showed 90 per cent of youth were involved in drugs abuse and criminal activities.

Steps must be taken before it reaches the saturation level and overflows which could result in the worst conditions for the society to live. Rehabilitation of criminals to support them in rebuilding their normal social life, discussions and training to the criminals are very effective to boost their normal routine. The government should run awareness program in localities for youngsters about the side effects of drugs, an outcome of criminal activities. Create more vacancies for the unemployed youth to engage them in routine activities of normal social human being.

To sum up, the crime rates in most of the developing nations are increasing year by year. Mainly the reason behind is unemployment in youth, which way out their life to criminal activities and hampered the society. The government must manage the employment sector to create more and more jobs to resettle the way out individuals and improve the quality of life for youngsters.