Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobby, and interest , and whether they are married or single.

Some people say that this information maybe relevant or useful. Other disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Job seekers are sometimes required to provide private information in their job interviews. Some people argue that this requirement is not necessary, but in my view, I believe that collecting candidates' personal information is essential and relevant to the work.

On the one hand, some people do not agree with this practice as they think such information is irrelevant and susceptible to change. Firstly, candidates feel that their hobbies, interests, and marital status are private information, which is not related to the job they are applying for. Thus, asking these questions is redundant and might make people, especially introverts, uncomfortable. Secondly, hobbies and interests are not fixed. They can change over time and, therefore, are not significant for the context of the employer and the job. Additionally, some candidates shy from sharing personal information for fear of future trouble.

On the other hand, I personally believe that, besides asking about professional abilities, the interviewer should ask candidates about hobbies, interests, and even marital status because this increases the company's chance of choosing the right person for the vacancy. Although hobbies and interests are personal, the interviewer can base them on them to determine their suitability for the job requirements. For example, many jobs have special features, such as shifts or business travels. Moreover, employees need to have ways to relieve stress for some jobs like playing sports or doing exercise. Hence, employers sometimes assess candidates' ability to cope with stress by asking about their hobbies and interests.

In conclusion, although some people do not agree with being asked about their personal information during interviews, I think it is vital to request further insight into a candidate's life to enhance the effectiveness of the recruitment.