Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as hobbies and interest and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Write at least 250 words

Various organizations demand confidential information from people applying for jobs such as their hobbies, personal interests, and marital status. Although, some denizens believe that providing personal information is relevant and beneficial for an employer, however, others dissent. In my opinion, I do believe that having access to the personal data of candidates applying for jobs is favourable for both sides; the employees and the company.

Many citizens believe that the sensitive data asked by the interviewers helps to give more insight into the life of the interviewee. To be more precise, by having knowledge about the preferences of the employees help in selecting candidate who will be more intrigued in working in the organization, moreover, it aids in providing them with the work environment in which one can work with full potential. To exemplify, jobs requiring extensive travelling selects employees who are travel enthusiasts as this not only helps in improving the performance and lowering the attrition rate of a company but also supports in building a successful career of the employees.

However, some people have this notion that disclosing delicate information to the employer is unsafe as this detail might be used by someone in the organisation for their personal benefits. Simply stating, sharing sensitive details results in biased decision making. The organisation may give priority to candidates based on their self-interest, however, not on their knowledge and experience. To elucidate, technological giants select candidates who are more interested in advanced machinery and automation because of which worthy candidates do not get the opportunities.

To conclude, I vehemently agree that sharing confidential information asked by an employer during the interview process is crucial as it helps to indicate a person’s personality and comfort level with a job which results in the overall development of an organization and improves professional life of of the new worker at the same time.