Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a common trend of employers requesting for personal details like pastime interests, marital status, etc. This is often debatable as few people are of the opinion that such data is relevant, however we also have set of people not in favor of this. In this essay, I will brief the pros and cons of both views and share my personal thought.

Companies intend to gather such personal details for a particular requirement. For example, few companies like Nestle, Adidas sponsor the spouses, medical insurance, and children’s education. These details are often used to consolidate and provision the expenses. There are also companies that go the extra mile and offer certain incentives based on the employees hobbies or interests. In such cases this is often a good initiative and the employee should not have any issues sharing the same.

In some cases, we have also noticed that the personal details provided in some occasion backfired on the employee. For example, a marital status as divorced might raise questions in some countries. These instances bring about a hold back nature in the employee to share personal information to the company’s database.

Therefore to conclude, I personally support showing all relevant details to the employers as I consider workplace my second home; where I spend most of the hours in a day.