Environmental problems ore loo big for individual countries and individual persons for address. ln other words, we have reached a stage where the only way to protect the environment is at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Ever-increasing environment-related problems are the gravest international concerns, nowadays. Some experts believe that initiatives at countries or personal levels are not effective anymore, and the international community needs to intervene in safeguarding the environment. However, I, personally disagree as groundwork for this problem still requires efforts at state and personal levels.

State, to begin with, needs to start new initiatives for prohibitive actions against the deteriorating environment. Aggressive infrastructure development can lead to environmental destruction in developing countries and the state must maintain proper pollution checks in such cases. Additionally, the government should also come up with policies and initiatives that focus on raising awareness about the importance of the well-being of the natural habitat. ‘Swach Bharat Abhiyan’ is one such example, this policy was introduced by the Government of India in the year 2018 to improve cleanliness in the country.

Citizens perhaps have the second most crucial role to play after the country in preserving surroundings. People have the access to their homes where governments can not intervene and it becomes the responsibility of the family to keep hygiene at their homes, and also assure that the garbage accumulated at home is not degrading the local environment. They should have set up for recycling in the house which will help reduce overall waste generation per house. Finally, as a responsible citizens, we ought to maintain cleanliness at public sites such as community parks, in the neighborhood.

It might be true that pressure exerted from international stages such as the U.N. might help speeding up the prohibitive actions at the national level, however, groundwork still needs to be done by local authorities or the public.

Overall, it appears that organizations operating internationally may perhaps be able to build a certain amount of pressure on nations with degraded environmental conditions however most of the patchwork for fixing this problem will still be done by countrymen or the country itself.