As said by someone, a picture can speak thousand words. That is, a pictorial representation of news articles are easier to grasp and comprehend. In my opinion, pictures are needed to catch the initial attention of the reader. There are many reasons that can be given in support of this.

First, in today's world where people are occupied with their personal and professional lives, a viewer needs to be attracted towards a news item so that he will spare some time and dwell into the details. In this case, a picture is the best tool to catch the attention of the viewer and if it interest's him then he will be glued to that piece till he finishes it completely.

Secondly, for some people reading can be a mundane task. In this case, the picture will help in articulating the content and the reader will like to go over the content. This hold true in the case where someone who is not well versed with the reading part of the language. A picture can help this person to understand the report easily while reading the details.

Thirdly, sometimes the news agency want to build an opinion of the reader. A picture can help in forming that preconceive notion about an article. Further when the reader or viewer starts to get into details, he already has the opinion build-up and will agree to the thought process of the writer. That is a connect is formed between the reader and the writer, right from the word go.

Fourthly, the numbers of news agencies and companies have increased considerably. And to survive in a stiff competition, the companies need to capture the maximum viewership percentage. This drives the companies to use methods which make a news article interesting and grab the market share of viewership.

To summarize, a picture can be used to provide a gist or it can even evoke a thought in the mind of the reader. Grabbing the eyeballs of the viewer is the need of the hour for the people in the news making business.