Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Recent years have witnessed several minority languages disappeared. Although it is true that fewer number of languages could make it easier for the general public to communicate with each other, I still believe a wider range of existence of languages is of much importance.

Common languages enable people from all over the world to talk with each other in this increasingly globalized society. For example, when tourists travel to a small village in a remote island, they have no worries about contacting with local residents to arrange their accommodation or transport, as they have no language barrier. In addition, with the advent of online shopping, many young people choose to purchase cheap or rare products from other countries through websites. If customers and sellers are able to speak the same language, it will be convenient for them to negotiate the prices and services, as automatic translation will sometimes lead to loss of language accuracy.

On the other hand, minority languages still play a significant role in native speakers’ life and they are a symbol of cultures. Those who live in the tribes in Amazon forest can only speak their own language and they have to exchange food or other survival resources from the outside. If no one could understand their language, it would bring much trouble for them. Besides, using native languages to record important festivals, traditional festival recipe and customs are very common in many cultures. Some tourists cannot experience their local cultures if these traditional things disappear with languages.

In conclusion, I disagree that the extinction of several languages does not matter, although fewer language promote communication to some extent.