Everyday traffic seems to get worse on our roads. How can we reduce the number of cars on our roads today? What alternatives can we offer car drivers?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the years, there has been a dramatic increase in the number of vehicles on the road. This has reduced the quality of air in major cities. Vehicular pollution also leads to several health problems. Obviously, this is a major problem that needs to be solved.

If we really want to control air pollution, we need to reduce the number of cars on the road. This is not possible without proper legislation. In some countries, a family can own only one car. In my opinion, governments all over the world should enact similar laws. If we can prevent rich families from buying more and more cars, we will be able to reduce the number of vehicles on the road.

Controlling car ownership alone will not solve the problem. Cars have a shelf life. Older cars cause more pollution than newer cars. So, we also need legislation that forbids people from driving vehicles older than 10 years. Creating awareness among the public is equally important. People need to be made aware of the environmental impact of vehicles.

Legislation won’t fix the problem if there are no viable alternatives. Fortunately, plenty of them exist. Public transport is the alternative to private cars. The government should invest more money in public transport systems. If buses and trains arrive on time, very few people will want to drive to work. Carpooling and cycling are also good solutions. We also need to develop cities where people can walk to work.

To conclude, we must control vehicular congestion and pollution before the situation goes out of control. It is evident that we require new legislation and regulations to control this situation. We must also opt for better alternatives like public transport and cycling.